Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27710

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 8/31/2013

RE: Amateur Adult

Tony of Liverpool , Merseyside England asks...

Are assistant referees deemed to be part of the field of play?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Yes.

So if the ball strikes an AR (and it hasn't wholly left the field of play), play simply continues, much like if the ball strikes the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

More or less, assistant referees are equivalent to a clump of grass or a clod of dirt (and often get treated that way by the players, coaches and fans). If a ball that has not left the field strikes an assistant referee (or the referee for that matter) it is still in play. It's different if a spectator kept a ball from leaving the field; the spectator is an outside agent while the referees are not.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The assistant referee should normally be off the field, and thus, the ball should already be out of play when it strikes him or her. The restart should be a throw-in. But, if the ball has not completely left the field when it touches the assistant referee, you are correct. The AR (like the referee) is treated as part of the field - a lovely piece of grass.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tony
Yes they are. For that reason the advice to assistant referees is to stay off the field of play behind the touchline so that the ball does not hit them and they do not get in the way of players.
In the unlikely situation where the ball hits the AR before fully crossing the line and it stays in play then the referee under the Law must allow play to continue.
If an AR is unsure of his position and the ball strikes him while close to the line he may decide that the 'best' decision is that the ball was out of play and signal for a throw in. It is also a common sense decision when the ball is destined to go out of play anyway.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27710
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.