Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27894

Kicks From The Penalty mark 10/15/2013

RE: Rec Under 13

Hunter of Fitzgerald, Georgia USA asks...

I signal to take the kick, and the player runs forward, and misses the ball. The ball did not move, and the player did not touch the ball. Do I allow a rekick? Do I continue on to the next kicker and count it as a miss?
This is during a shoot out.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

If the ball did not move forwards then the kick has not taken place. You would allow a retake - and you should instruct the players that it will take place on your whistle again.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Hunter
Why has the kick been missed? Was it a deliberate miss. If so the player is cautioned and the kick is taken by the same player unless of course it was his second caution.
If it was a slip or a genuine miss then the kicker get to kick again after everyone stops laughing and it is on the whistle again in both instances.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

At this age group, especially in South Georgia (I'm just poking fun at a fellow Georgian, not serious) I would expect this was an honest swing and a miss as opposed to some sort of deception (again, we Georgians do not engage in such bad behavior). The ball has to be kicked and move forward at a PK or KFTPM. This did not happen so inform everyone that on your whistle, the same player will be retaking the kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27894
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.