Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27907

Law 15 - Throw In 10/18/2013

RE: Rec Under 14

Me of Everywhere, WA USA asks...

Greetings:

On a throw-in, if the ball comes in, in the air but then when it bounces touches the ground off the field, it that a do-over or does the oponent have a throw-in?

This happened during a scrimmage game, I thought it never entered the field (I was not reffing just watching) and so did the players but the coaches (who were both on the field) said it entered then left and had the oponent take a throw-in from pretty far away.

Anyway even if that happened (I guess there would have to be curve on the ball huh) what is correct?

Your attention is appreciated.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Once the ball touches the plane of the touchline the ball is in play. If the ball immediately leaves the field of play a throw in is awarded from where the ball left the field of play.
The key to this decision is determining whether the ball entered the field of play or not. I need to be sure that it did not enter before going with a retake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

When the ball enters the field and then curves out of play, the restart is a throw-in for the opponents where the ball left the field of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The ball may come into play on a throw-in either in the air or on the ground if it touches the actual touchline or the imaginary plane we draw straight up from the line. if it curves back out of play while in the air it has come into and gone out of play.
restart is a throw-in to the opponents where the ball crossed back over the touchline in the air, not where it hits the ground.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27907
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.