Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27909

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/21/2013

RE: Adult

DJR of Wokingham, Berkshire England asks...

Is it a foul if an attacking player taps away the ball when the goalkeeper is bouncing it and the attacker subsequently scores. As happened in the Chelsea v Cardiff match on 19th Oct 2013.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
This was clearly an offence. Once the goalkeeper has the ball in his hands he may not be challenged and that includes when he throws the ball up to kick it or bounce it. The goal should not have been allowed and it should have been punished by an indirect free kick.
It has been shown that the referee just looked away up field at the moment the ball was bounced probably to see what was happening at the likely drop point from the punt and missed the incident. The AR should have seen this and I believe both thought the goalkeeper dropped the ball rather than bouncing it. The 4th official could have intervened here as well if he saw the incident.
Poor teamwork by the referee and his team particularly when they are all miked up and where the ball is located is always the most important location to watch in refereeing



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

the keeper is in possession of the ball while bouncing it. Every Professional player knows this and knows the keeper may not be challenged while in control of the ball. Referee turned his head and player got away with one



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27909
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.