Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27913

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/21/2013

RE: Rec Under 15

Jake of Manchester, Missori Usa asks...

Blue team runs into green team goalie. Goalie goes down and is hurt. He gets back up and ref calls kick for blue against green. Goalie stands and say bull.... And is awarded yellow card. Ref forces goalie off the field and does not allow cold goalie to warm up. Blue is awarded indirect free kick n the box. Is this all legal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jake
Not sure what you mean here. If the goalkeeper was only cautioned there is no requirement for him to leave the field of play like outfield players? If the goalkeeper was injured and required treatment there was no requirement for the goalkeeper to leave the field of play. He would only be required to leave if he was sent off which is a red card.
Now the game requires that both teams MUST have a goalkeeper at all times. In this situation if the goalkeeper must leave the field of play (which I doubt) he HAS to be replaced by a player or a substitute who wears the goalkeeper's jersey. That is why an exception is made for the goalkeeper in the treatment rule which does not require him to leave the field of play.
If the team wishes to make a substitution of a goalkeeper at a stoppage that must be allowed. However there is no provision for time to be allowed for the goalkeeper to warm up. He simply enters as soon as his equipment is in place.
If a team has used up all its quota of substitutions then an onfield player must be identified as goalkeeper by wearing the goalkeeper's jersey. He does not have to stay in the goal area but most do.
As regards the restart of an indirect free kick I fail to understand what that could be for if there was contact between the forward and the goalkeeper with the goalkeeper being cautioned. That in my opinion should have been a penalty kick for the offence committed by the goalkeeper which could be charging, holding with the body, jumps at an opponent which are all direct free kick or penalty kick offences.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I likewise am completely confused by what happened here

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27913
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.