Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27917

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/22/2013

RE: Under 19

Fred of Salem, Al Usa asks...

I was recently watching an epl game. The goal keeper bounced the ball and when it hit the ground, an attacker played the ball away from him and scored. I was under the impression that this bouncing of the ball was still possession and therefore, the attacker had no right to try and play this ball. Am I correct?
Also, what would be the interpretation on a us youth soccer game?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Fred
The referee crew here made a serious error by missing this offence. Both the referee and the trail AR thought incorrectly that the goalkeeper dropped the ball. The correct decision would have been to stop play and award an IDFK to the defending team. The same applies throughout the world including an USSF sanctioned game.
One would have thought with four pairs of eyes that one of the referee crew would have seen what happened. I guess they did not think it would happen and got laxed about it when the goalkeeper had the ball in his hands. Personally I would place most of the responsibility on the trail AR as the CR's responsibility is to get to the drop zone for the punt.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You are correct and it is hard to believe a high level referee crew missed this.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27917
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.