Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27921

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/22/2013

RE: intermediate coach High School

ronald dodds of battle mountain, nv USA asks...

The GK took the ball just inside the penalty area just as an attacker was challenging for it. It is a hand ball situation. The game is started with a direct FK. Are there any cards issued here?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ronald
I assume you meant to say outside the penalty area? Outside the epnalty area the goalkeeper is like any other player. IMO it is likely that the offence was a tactical foul and a caution.
It is unlikely that if it is a catch just over the line as a misjudgement that the offence will fail one of the denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity conditions such as distance to the ball and therefore it is not a dismissal. However if the attacker had possession of the ball going past the goalkeeper then every chance that all four conditions would be met for a sending off.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Inside the penalty area this is the keeper's job and legal



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27921
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.