Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27928

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/23/2013

RE: Competitive College

Nick of Calgary, AB Canada asks...

Can a player play the ball from out of bounds provided; he was on the field at the time (not a substitute), and the ball did not wholly cross the line?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes. Players may go outside the lines in the normal course of play. Beside going over the line in order to play the ball, another typical example is going around an opponent.

The ball remains in play until the whole thing is outside the whole line, and players are free to play it until it is completely out.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nick
By all means. there will be times when it is perhaps the only way of playing the ball which is is still in play. Examples include a forward who go past a defender on the wing over the touchline/ goalline. Nothing wrong with the player stepping off the field of play to go around the player and playing the ball on the field of play. Another example would be a defender who moves over the goal line while defending and he plays the ball away from an attacker in that situation.
In both instances the ball is still in play on the field of play and the player has momentarily left the field of play as part of play which is not an offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27928
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28808

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.