Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27939

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/27/2013

RE: competitve Adult

Glenn Townsend of Montgomery, Alabama USA asks...

A ref blows the play dead on a foul by team 1. Fouled player on team 2 retaliates after the whistle and is ejected with a red card. Which team gets the ball on the restart?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Glenn,

Misconduct when the ball is out of play (any time play has been stopped by the referee or it has left the field of play) does not change the restart. No matter what the players do, the restart will always be whatever the original restart was.

So, in the situation where a the Red team is awarded a free kick and a Red player then commits misconduct while the ball is out of play, the Red team will still take the free kick.

The card is sufficient punishment for the misconduct, whereas the purpose of the free kick is to restore the balance from the original foul; misconduct after the ball is out of play does not change the initial foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The misconduct happened after the ball was no longer in play. The restart was established by the reason play stopped - the foul by Team 1.

With very few exceptions (one at a penalty kick and one at a throw-in), the restart does not change for anything that happens when the ball is not in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Glenn
Misconduct after the ball is out of play does not change the restart. The restart here is a direct free kick to Team 2.
Some sports have a turn over of restart when a team commits misconduct after the ball has gone out of play. Soccer is not one of them.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Team 2. The misconduct by the player on team 2 happened after the ball was blown dead and does not change the restart for the foul on Team 1.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27939
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.