Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27948

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/28/2013

RE: REC, COMP Under 19

Antonio Ortiz of Sacramento, CA USA asks...

PENALTY KICK IS TAKEN, BALL BOUNCES OF THE GOAL POST AND KICKER KICKS BALL INTO GOAL. GOAL IS AWARDED. OPPOSING COACH ARGUES THAT PK KICKER COULD NOT TOUCH THE BALL A SECOND TIME IF NO ONE ELSE HAD TOUCHED IT. THERE IS A 50/50 SPLIT ON WHAT IT THE ANWSER?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

The laws of the game clearly state that the kicker may not touch the ball a second time until another player has touched the ball. So if the ball bounces off the post without the goalkeeper touching it, the kicker may not touch the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Antonio
On any kicked restart including a penalty kick the kicker may not touch the ball again until it has been played / touched by another player.
Law 14 which cover penalty kicks states very clearly that and I quote
'' He (Kicker) must not play the ball again until it has touched another player''
At a PK that can include the goalkeeper, opponent 0r team mate. As the ball has only touched the frame of the goal it has not touched another player so when the kicker touches the ball for a 2nd time it is an IDFK from where he touch took place.
Disappointed that its 50/50 split on this.
Perhaps I would give another example. Let's say that at a corner kick the kicker decide to kick the ball at the corner flag before dribbling off with it would there be any doubt that it is a double touch infringement? None whatsoever. The PK is just the same albeit it from a further distance.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

There should be no disagreement on this. The kicker may not play the ball again until the ball has been touched by any other player. No goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27948
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.