Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27965

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/3/2013

Tom of Northridge, US asks...

Goalie has ball in hands, then starts motion to punt,then drops ball from hands, defender cleanly redirects ball before ball touches ground or goalie's foot, without touching goalie. Has a foul been committed?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tom
As described yes it is a foul.
When you say defender I assume you mean opponent. If that is the case the opponent cannot challenge the goalkeeper while he has the ball in his possession which includes making a punt. When the opponent prevents the goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands that is an offence punished by an indirect6 free kick
Now the referee has to consider did the goalkeeper throw the ball to the ground or drop the ball as a mistake without any interference whatsoever from an opponent in which case the ball is available to be played by an opponent.
Now if the opponent is so close that he can touch the ball before it touches the ground then that is almost certain that the opponent prevented proper release and that is a foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Yes. This is considered interfering with the keeper's release of the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Yes it has and an Indirect Free Kick is awarded the keeper's team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27965
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.