Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27966

Law 11 - Offside 11/3/2013

RE: Competitive Under 12

Paul Graham of San Ramon, CA USA asks...

Off-side question.

A player of the attacking team picks up the ball in midfield and dribbles toward goal, past the last line of defenders who are roughly midway between the center circle and the 18 yard box. She is joined before she breaks the last line of defense by another attacker who runs a yard or so to her right and in front of the attacker with the ball. They both run directly on goal in the same maintaining the same formation. The goalkeeper approaches and tries to close the attackers down. The player who dribbled from midfield shoots and scores.

Obviously the player with the ball was never in an offside position and if she was alone clearly the goal should stand. However, considering there were two players, one of which maintained an offside position throughout the attack and subsequently awarded goal, should it stand?

Thanks in advance.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
There would be no offence here unless the attacker who is ahead of the ball in an offside position interfered with an opponent. Interfering in an offside context means preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent?s line of vision or challenging an opponent for the ball.
As described that is unlikely to have happened so no offside should be the call.
Now from a coaching perspective that is not a good position for the team mate without the ball to be in. She cannot participate in play such as receive a pass and should the ball rebound from the goalkeeper or the frame the goal she could also not play the ball as that would be deemed to be offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

This is a valid goal. It is not an offense to be in an offside position.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

First line of Law 11:
It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.
The player in offside position must actually do something to be guilty of an offense.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27966
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.