Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27973

Kicks From The Penalty mark 11/5/2013

RE: High School Under 18

Debi of Portland, OR USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 23187

Two questions:
1. During a PK shootout can a team change goal keepers?

2. If a player were awarded a free kick after a foul and the ball wasn't completely still when the player kicked it, what should the decision of the referee be?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Debi
1. Yes The defending team may change the goalkeeper prior to each penalty kick.
2. If the ball is rolling at a free kick the kick is retaken by the same team from the point of the infraction.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

1. Change goalkeepers yes.
2. The kick is retaken



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

High school rules allow anyone on the roster to participate in the kicks from the penalty mark phase. So, there is no restriction on changing or substituting for keepers during the kicks.

During the match itself, a penalty kick is not a substitution opportunity under high school rules (note: a card or an injury will create such an opportunity). Thus, although a field player may change places with the keeper before a penalty kick, a substitute may not enter from the bench to replace the keeper at that time.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27973
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.