Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27978

Other 11/5/2013

RE: Rec Under 13

Parangarecutirimicuaro of Sacramento, CA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27945

I observed an instance where a parent approached the midfield and handed a water bottle (metal) to his son during a throw in on opposite side of the field away from the play at a U12 Boys game. Is this acceptable?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Players are permitted to use a drink bottle at the touch line during a stoppage in play.

The fact that the bottle is metal shouldn't be a concern as the player needs to get rid of it once play resumes.

I wouldn't be too worried about the fact that it came from a parent.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
No issue here at an Underage game.
A player may take a drink while play continues and may do so only from the touch line and without leaving the field. Players may also drink water during stoppages at any of the boundary lines.
Under no circumstances may water containers of any sort be thrown onto the field, either during play or at stoppages, nor may they be thrown from the field after a player has finished drinking. That is difficult to implememt though and unfortunately it happens quite frequently.
At the higher levels it is highly unlikely that anyone other than the techical staff will be able to offer water close to the field of play and it really only happen at the technical area during a stoppage.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

It is acceptable to hand water bottles to a player at the touchline. Throwing water bottles onto and from the field can be very dangerous, and should not be permitted.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27978
Read other Q & A regarding Other

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27983

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.