Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28017

Law 15 - Throw In 11/19/2013

RE: Intermediate Under 12

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28012

Ball in & out of play can be thought of as the edge of the ball closest to the field crossing over the outer edge of the touch line. The only 'inconsistency' is that the player taking the throw-in must have any part of both feet outside the inner edge of the touch line.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Phil,

You're correct that this means that a player can be handling the ball on the line to deliver a throw-in.

The ball isn't in play until the throw-in is delivered, so there's no problem or conflict caused by this - as once the ball is in play, it's no longer in contact with the hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
I don't see it as an inconsistency in the context of the ball and the line which is the important part. The foot position is just part of the Laws of the Game and one complete movement from the ball behind the head to when it is released. When the ball is released it is in play when it touches the plane of the line.
I also look on it as the reason why I rarely if ever go with a repeat throw in on a ball that allegedly does not enter the FOP from a throw in by a player standing on the line. Once the ball touches the plane of the line after release it is in play so if it does not make it onto the FOP it has still entered.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28017
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.