Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28090

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/2/2014

RE: College

ADHAM of Mobile, AL USA asks...

If a player kicks the ball and it touches the hand of the opposite team player (other than goalie) and scores. Which one do we count, the goal or it is penalty?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
The referee can and should play advantage by awarding the goal. There is no reason to stop play to award the penalty which could then be missed.
I might add that the ball hitting a player's hand in not necessarily deliberate handling. In fact many times it is not. The player's action has to be deliberate such as moving his hand towards the ball to stop it or redirect it for the handling offence to be called.
The referee can also take disciplinary action even after allowing the goal if he deems that the deliberate handling was unsporting or that it was a failed attempt to deny an obvious goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

The advantage clause dictates that we allow play to continue if doing so is a bigger advantage to the team than awarding a free kick would be.

That's why you'd allow the goal. It's the exact same law that sees a refereeing yelling 'Play On! Advantage!' in another part of the field when a player is fouled and the ball goes to an unmarked teammate with space in front.

As Ref McHugh said though, this is only relevant if the handling was deliberate. If the handling was completely accidental then 'advantage' is irrelevant, as you'd allow play to continue anyway.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Presuming it's a foul - see below - the referee would do best to play the advantage and allow the goal. If the referee is too quick and blows the whistle before the ball is in the net, then he is stuck with calling the foul. That's why refs should pause a moment, to consider advantage, before quickly blowing for a foul. It takes time for a referee to develop the presence of mind to watch, not react.

But you said the ball touches the hand of a player - was it deliberate handling? If not, it's not a foul at all, and nothing would be called.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28090
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28124

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.