Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28164

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 2/7/2014

RE: Under 13

Jordan Johnson of Rockwall, Texas United States of America asks...

When we scored a goal the referee said it didn't count as a goal because it bounced in and out of the goal. Is this true?


P.S: We play indoors.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jordan
If all of the ball crosses all of the goal line then a goal should have been awarded. It makes no difference if the bounce of the ball subsequently takes it out of the goal.
Here is an example of where a goal should have been awarded at the highest level
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5QlBHF6ib8
As you can see all of the ball clearly crossed the line and the ball bounced out because of the spin on it.
Where there is uncertainty the goal should not be awarded. If the referee in your game did not award the goal because he was unsure and he did not see the ball cross all of the line then that would have to be accepted rather than because it "bounced in and out of the goal".



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jordan,

I know that, as a referee, sometimes when a ball bounces out of the goal it can be extremely difficult to tell if it actually entered the goal or if it rebounded off the goalpost. I've refereed in centres where the goal has a bar across the back, not more than 1 yard behind the crossbar. If it hits that at pace, the eye can't follow fast enough. So the referee can only give what he sees.

But, if the referee knows it has wholly crossed the line then a goal is to be awarded. Whether the ball remains in the goal, hits the net (it doesn't have to), or bounces out is utterly irrelevant.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28164
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.