Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28231

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/3/2014

RE: Sunday League Adult

Matt Newsome of Sheffield, England asks...

On Sunday during a match one of our players deliberately passed the ball back to our goal keeper. He knew he couldn't pick it up so went to clear it with his feet, he actually miskicked the ball and it sort of flew over his own head towards the goal, he then ran back and saved it with his hands. What's the rule, a free kick or play on?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Matt
The restriction of the goalkeeper not touching the ball with his hands when the ball has been deliberately kicked to him by a team mate continues to apply until the ball has been touched by an opponent or by a teammate in a manner that it can be touched such as a header, chest etc.
So in this situation the restriction still applies and it is an IDFK from where the goalkeeper 'touched' the ball with his hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Matt,

The Laws state that it's an indirect free kick if the keeper handles the ball after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. What the keeper does with his feet between the kick and handling the ball is irrelevant.

However, the laws prevent the goalkeeper from receiving a card for any handling-related offence inside his own Penalty Area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28231
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28273

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.