Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28496

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 6/13/2014

RE: Adult

Zed of Miami, Fl USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 25947

If a ball hits the referee and goes in to the goal, is that considered a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

The referee is basically considered a part of the field. So, it's the same answer as 'if a ball hits the goalpost and goes into the goal, is that considered a goal?'

You simply ignore the fact that the referee touched the ball, and decide from there. So, for instance, if the last attacking touch was an indirect free kick (which requires a 2nd player to touch the ball) and no other player touched the ball, then no goal. Similarly, if a defender had taken a free kick and it deflected off the referee and straight into the goal then no goal, as a player cannot score against himself directly from a free kick (and no other player touched the ball, so it's still 'directly').

If it's normal play though, then yes, a goal can be scored after the ball hits the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes it is. Provided no infraction was committed by the scoring team. The referee is a large blade of grass.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Zed
The referee is just part of play same as the goalpost etc. When the ball hits him it is play on.
Should it happen? No but it does. Referees are advised to take up positions that makes it difficult for it to happen.
Here is a clip of such an incident:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o0Z_6uy_rTI
Very serious error here by the referee in his positioning. He should not have been in that position but unfortunately he was and the goal was awarded. Thankfully it is extremely rare. That incident goes back to 1986.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28496
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.