Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28584

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 7/9/2014

RE: Adult

Richard Curtis of Scarborough , North Yorkshire England asks...

I have scored from a goalkeeper throw, could it be a world record?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Richard
I think it could be. That would be an extremely long throw on a regular pitch and one that I have not heard of previously. I believe the World Record for a throw in is around 52 metres but I think that has and can be beaten although probably not recorded
Some records require certain criteria including weather conditions such as limited wind speeds, carry distance only excluding roll, recording conditions etc. Clearly playing records do not.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee richard dawson

lol well Richard
you should look into a position as quarterback in the USA pointy ball NFL if you have an arm like that
Was anyone filming it, make a great viral video! If you accomplished it on a regulation field with no wind assist then even more impressive! What was the reaction of those watching and most importantly did the referee ok the goal! lol
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee richard dawson

View Referee richard dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

If you threw the ball from the edge of your penalty area on a minimum length pitch of 100 yards, it would have to have traveled a distance of 100-18=82 yards. What was the name of the Tropical Storm again that the match was played in? Or was it just a howlng gale sent down from Scotland?



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28584
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.