Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28626

Law 15 - Throw In 7/29/2014

RE: Rec Adult

James of St. Paul, MN United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28625

On a follow up to Question 28625, I have a question to when the ball enters the field of play. Maybe I misinterpreted Richard's answer, but if I am correct Richard is saying that if, during a throw-in, any of the ball crosses the touchline then the ball is in play ('any of the ball gets wet.') I was under the impression that for the ball to be in play then the whole of the ball must cross the whole of the line. Otherwise it is outside the field of play, in the same way that a player's foot is considered out of the field of play during a throw if any part of the foot is on or outside the touchline.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi James
Always delighted to see answers raise further questions and challenging understandings.
Referee Dawson's answer is 100% correct. Once any part of the ball touches the plane of the line it is in play. The reasoning is that the ball is then on the line and it can be played. It is not out of play again until all of it crosses all of the line.
Now it does not mean either that if a player, standing on the touchline, stops his throwing motion by not releasing the ball that it is in play should the ball touch the plane of the line. The ball is not thrown in or in play until it is released and touches the plane of the line.
As a final point this is not going to challenge referees too many times. The vast majority of times the ball will come into play or if it is that tight to the line it is going to look like it is in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi James,

The boundary lines themselves form part of the field. So don't think of the ground as being 'outside the field - line - inside the field'. It's really just 'outside the field - inside the field'.

When the ball is on the field and heading it, it needs to wholly cross the line to have considered leaving the field. This isn't because 'crossing the line' is what's important - it's simply because while any part of the ball touches the line, it's still in play.

This goes the other way too - when a ball is re-entering the field of play from outside, the moment any part of the ball touches the line, it's in play - because the lines form part of the field.

That's why 'wholly crosses the line' only applies to balls leaving the field, not reentering.

The same principles applies for the penalty area line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

On a correctly executed throw-in, the ball is in play when it is released, and any part of the ball is over the outer most edge of the touchline. The entire ball does not have to cross-the touchline.








Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi James
According to my wife, I am wrong on many occasions, just not on this one! lol
You are spot on my friend, you are not misinterpreting my response!

On a side note.
It is entirely possible for the thrower, while obeying ALL procedural conditions, to be completely inside the field of play, if his heels are only partially on the touchline, while performing the throw in.

As my colleague, ref McHugh points out, the ball is NOT YET in PLAY until the thrower actually releases the ball from his hands but it is why there must be a 2 meter separation from a defender given where the release point could in law actually be .

The THROW can be taken further back.The laws do say a throw in could occur within 2 meters from where it left the field of play. This is where a ball delivery parallel to the touchlines MIGHT not actually come into contact, remaining outside for the duration of the throw and a retake could occur!

In my opinion if a throw in is made correctly following the prescribed procedural and distance variables in law the ball is almost always going to be released into play!
The cries of,' It was never in ref!' are more like a plea, of 'Oops ref, I did a boo boo ,can I redo it?

Admittedly LAW 15, in my opinion, flies in the face of conventional restart philosophy, being the only one where if performed incorrectly is not retaken but awarded to the opposition! This is a recent innovation, perhaps the thinking is the throw-in is a simple, 'Lets get play moving again restart!'.
Failure to get the game moving by doing it wrong is so pitiful, we award custody of the ball to the other guys!
cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28626
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.