Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28698

Other 9/2/2014

RE: competive Under 13

ken of pembroke pines, fl usa asks...

When the game ends in a tie and the teams go to Penalty Kicks, if the player makes the penalty kick does this count as a goal scored for the player?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Ken,
KFTPM are only to provide a match result! It is not part of the match! The goals are not counted as they are NOT part of the MATCH! This is only for a result. Mind you statistically, the better you are at scoring goals, the greater the chance you are part of that 1st group of five! If you score at a regulation PK that would count in your total

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The player thinks it does!! But, when a tournament decides on a 'Golden Boot' award, it does not include kicks from the penalty mark, or as a save in a similar competition for keepers. As Ref Dawson notes, the kicks phase is generally not considered 'part of the match.' Indeed, the final score is usually reported as a tie, with a notation who advances or is the champion.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy


When a game is tied 3:3 and there must be a winner, the score will be 4:3. It is possible that the decision, who won is decided by a coin toss but normally it is through an extra process done with kicks from the penalty mark.
So really both teams are fighting for that one goal, which may have been as a result from several members from both teams getting the ball past the goalie.
So, statistically it does not count as a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ken
There are only two occasions when it matters, outside of the player of course. That is in deciding leading goal scorer / golden boot or in Fantasy Football competitions
In both instances Goals in Kicks from the Penalty Mark do not count.
Having said all that it is a vital contribution to the team advancing or winning a final. Ask anyone who has missed an important penalty in KFTPM and they will recall it for a very long time. I still recall a penalty I missed 40 years ago!!. Thankfully it did not matter as we still won thanks to my team mates who scored the next four.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28698
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.