Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28724

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/12/2014

RE: Competive Adult

Jimmy of Houston, Texas US asks...

In the quiz number 1 refer to questions 43 & 44, both misconducts happend outside of the fields but one is IFK and another is a drop ball?

Here are the questions and answers:
The Question was An attacking player in an attempt to play the ball runs around a defender along the TouchLine, outside the field of play. The defender crosses the TouchLine and brutally elbows the attacker outside the field of play. What is the correct restart and consequences for the players?

You answered...
3) red card for the defender and indirect free kick for attacker

The correct answer is...
3) red card for the defender and indirect free kick for attacker


This answer was updated recently according to FIFA LAW 2009 an explanation will be posted soon.

The Question was A goalkeeper and an attacking player on a fifty /fifty ball collide and slide over the goalline some 10 feet into the area inside the netting between the goal posts. The ball is stopped on the goal line.The attacker attempts to reach his leg out, intending to draw the ball back over the goalline. The keeper scambles over top of the attacker in an attempt to grab the ball pinning the attacker's legs preventing him from doing so. A defender then manages to clear the ball from the area. What is your decision?

You answered...
2) drop ball, red card the keeper

The correct answer is...
2) drop ball, red card the keeper


This may be a tough sell but my thinking is since the misconduct occurred outside the field of play you can not award a penalty or indirect kick. The only restart available is a drop ball on the edge of the 6 yard area straight back from where the ball was on the goal line. I believe the keeper prevented a goal scoring opportunity by preventing the attacker front drawing the ball across the goal line. But is Denying an Obvious Goal Scoring Opportunity possible in this circumstance or is it SFP? I feel the red card is the correct call but admit to some uncertainty as to SFP or VC? A yellow for USB if you believed the keeper was legitimately challenging for the ball but holding the attacker from getting up and back into the play. Something to consider is if part of the attacker's leg was in the field of play trying to draw the ball back but the keeper was outside. The call could be different as a PK and a red card for DOGSO. For now the incident is on the FOP. This question was presented to foster discussion. Do not be too ticked if you feel you have a better answer. Please send your comments to

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jimmy
In the first question the player has left the field of play deliberately to commit the misconduct. The Laws state that when that happens the player is sent off and the restart is an IDFK
See page 128 current Law booklet
'' if the player leaves the feld of play to commit the offence, play is restarted with an indirect free kick from the position of the ball when play was stopped (see Law 13 –Position of free kick)''
In the second one the players are both off the field of play as part of play and then the misconduct is committed in which case the restart is a dropped ball restart.
As regards the sanction for this it cannot be serious foul play as excessive force was not used in the challenge. The DOGSO is the most appropriate sending off as the question states that the actions of the goalkeeper prevented the opponent from kicking the ball over the line thereby denying a goal
In reality the quiz paper scenario may not be the what is seen on the field of play particularly with a scramble in the goalmouth. As you say if the players foot was on the line then the restart becomes a penalty kick and that will be the expected restart with a red card issued. It may also be the 'best' restart but that was not asked in the black and white question.

The quiz questions are to encourage research of the correct answers. rarely though is the DB restart used as in most situations the referees deem the offence or part of it happening on the field of play. The important part though is to know the Law on it

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Wow hi Jimmy where did you access the quiz?? It was taken down long ago and is currently being rewritten??

Restart of play
• If the ball is in play and the offence occurred outside the field of play:
– if the player is already off the field of play and commits the offence, play is restarted with a dropped ball from the position of the ball when play was stopped, unless play was stopped inside the goal area, in which case the referee drops the ball on the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the ball was located when play was stopped

(this could apply if a player accidentally crosses one of the boundary lines of the field of play, he is not deemed to have committed an infringement. Going off the field of play may be considered to be part of a playing movement! Or the player is OFF the field already with the permission of the referee)

– if the player leaves the field of play to commit the offence, play is restarted with an indirect free kick from the position of the ball when play was stopped (see Law 13 –Position of free kick

(I maintain this is at minimum a cautionable action show a yellow card for leaving the field without the permission of the referee and the misconduct or foolish actions off the field are looked at separately for usb or vc indicators.)

A DOGSO requires a free kick be it an indfk or dfk. Admittedly my knee jerk reaction is to see if I can stretch the leg to be on the field or that some sort of holding foul was initiated on the field to make the PK and show the red card for DOGSO a possibility. The action by the keeper does seem a bit thin for VC or SFP. I believe question 43 to be correct but 44 to be in error even at the time it was written which in point of fact it states that it might be, as it was to foster discussion and expected rebuttal. I think a caution got the USB holding outside show a yellow card drop ball would be the more correct in law even if those participating might accept the red card pk or indfk option if it was applied! Review committee might have issues LOL well it did foster discussion did it not? lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28724
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.