Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28749

Law 18 - Common Sense 9/19/2014

RE: rec Under 14

john of san andreas, ca usa asks...

Once the keeper plays the ball with their feet from an opposing player, can they pick up the ball with their hands, as long as they are in the penalty area?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
You are correct. There is no restriction on the goalkeeper picking the ball up on a kick from an opponent. It makes no difference that the feet are used first. In fact many goalkeepers do this to take more time than the six seconds which begin when the ball is picked up into the hands and arms.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Sure. The keeper may dribble the ball and then pick it up in this situation.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
the keeper is permitted the use of his hands within his own penalty area. THE ONLY restrictions he has, if the ball was deliberately kicked to him by a team mate or a second touch on a restart or after the 6 seconds of possession when he does use his hands.

In the case of a free ball collected during play last played by an opponent the keeper has no such restrictions and may use his hands within his area .

The keeper can dribble the ball with his feet in or out of his penalty area for as long as the opposition permits him to go unchallenged. If the opposition challenges the keeper for ball possession outside his penalty area (where he is not permitted the use of his hands) it is entirely possible for the keeper to dribble that ball BACK into his own penalty area and use his hands to stop any challenges for that 6 seconds of ball control granted to a keeper who uses his hands inside his penalty area.

Once a long time ago I was under the mistaken idea that the keeper was kicking the ball back to himself was a circumvention of the pass back law. I was as wrong then as I would be now . AS long as the keeper is not receiving the ball from a deliberate kick of a team mate he can go outside and bring the ball back inside his PA and legally use his hands.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28749
Read other Q & A regarding Law 18 - Common Sense

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28781

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.