Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28759

Mechanics 9/21/2014

RE: D-3 competitive Under 17

Jess of Long Island, NY USA asks...

The ref handed out a red card today. After the opposing coach walked onto the field and spoke to him the ref then went and spoke to his AR. After that, he reversed the red card and continued play.
Is it legal/acceptable to Red Card a player, have that player be headed off the field, and then reverse the
decision and that player keeps playing?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jess
As long as play has not restarted the referee may change any decision including the issue of a red card. In this case it would appear the the AR had seen something that the referee had not and provided the referee with additional information. That is perfectly acceptable. Might be poor mechanics yet it is acceptable in Law. It is always better though to get the decision correct even if it means reversing a decision.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jess,
The opposing coach?? From the team not shown a red card, not playing a a man down? Hmm sounds like he felt an injustice was done and tried to intervene in a sporting gesture? If justice was done, then all the poor mechanics really do not matter, except when you get blasted in the post game review lol, as my colleague Ref McHugh points out! It is always better to get the decision correct even if it means reversing a decision.

We can not be coerced into changing a decision we must respect the facts of play and deal with what we know to be true. Still if a referee kacks a big one and some ray of light flitters in before he restarts, as long as play had not restarted, it is legal for a referee to reverse a card based on the additional information from a neutral AR!

Now as much as I might respect a coach wanting to correct a perceived injustice, Coaches walking onto the field to discuss a match decision with a referee. Hmmm we are usually are not so amicable nor are we likely to change a decision based solely on their plea or statement of the facts as they see it. In fact it is quite likely the coach could find themselves tossed if a less tolerant referee suggests they go back to the technical area and they try to argue no matter how correct they feel themselves to be!


Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Jess,

To answer your question, indeed it is acceptable to reverse any decision if play has not been restarted or if the game has not ended.

I have done it. Not proud of it but if I know I made a mistake and if I can still reverse it, why not? An example: I whistle for a corner kick and both attacker and defender insist that it should be goal kick. Fair enough; I erred, goal kick.

Brave coach walking on the field! Must have been a glaring mistake. I applaud the ref for (supposedly) getting it right.

By the way, only in Las Vegas do they hand out cards. In soccer we just 'show' it to them.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28759
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.