Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28773

Law 11 - Offside 9/22/2014

RE: Competive High School

Aarushi of Delhi, Delhi India asks...

Player A and Player B are my opponents. Player A is in offside position and Player B has the ball. As he moves forward I tackle him and kick the ball away. Player A gets the ball. Is he offside?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Aarushi
As you kicked the ball to Player A that cannot be offside. The ball must be played by a team mate of Player A for offside to apply. Had Player B kicked the ball and it deflects / rebounds off yourself to a player in an offside position that would be offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Aarushi,
When you deliberately played the ball it resets offside no matter you might have redirected or misplayed it to an offside player. So no offside!
This is not a deflection where the opponents' kick the ball at you and you have no time or space to react so it rebounds off of you.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

No. Your tackle is considered a deliberate play of the ball. That means that any opponent is eligible to play the ball regardless of position.

Note: offside position is determined the ball next is touched by a member of the opposing team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Aarushi,

If a defender passes the ball to an attacker, that attacker is not offside. It seems to me, you were that defender and you made the unintended pass, but pass nonetheless.

The sad thing is that if the attacker scored, you wouldn't even get an assist...



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Aarushi,

As indicated in NFHS Rule 11-1-3, a player shall only be penalized for being in a offside position if the ball was played by a teammate. Since you kicked (played) the ball to him, and you were not a teammate, he is not to be penalized for being in the offside position.

I hope that you have a successful season.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28773
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.