Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28777

Law 15 - Throw In 9/23/2014

RE: Adult

Aaron Wawrzyniak of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania United States asks...

During a throw-in can the ball bounce onto the field of play?

Meaning the thrower intentionally allows the ball to bounce prior to completely entering the field of play.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Aaron
As long as the throw in not thrown straight down which is called a spike there is no issue with the ball bouncing on to the field of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Yes. The ball is in play if it first touches the ground when the ball is on or over any part of the touchline.

Note: if the ball first touches the ground when it is completely outside the field of play, it is not in play. Under the laws of the game, the throw-in is retaken. (Under US NFHS high school and NCAA college rules it is considered a foul throw.)



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

My colleagues have answered your question as you worded it. Yes, the ball can bounce on the field of play when thrown in. It does not have to touch a player before it hits the ground.

However, I suspect this is not what you meant to ask. If you were asking, can the ball bounce outside the field and then go onto the field, the answer is an emphatic no.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Aaron.
Imagine the touch line is a 5 inch wall of water extending straight up into the sky, if any part of the ball can get wet, it will be in play

On a throw in if the ball touches the ground outside the field of play before it enters the field of play if it is likely considered to be an incorrect throw in, you lose possession in all forms of soccer. Also a spike where the ball is pounded down is usually not released from behind or over the head but at chest height thus illegal.

Fifa does state a throw in that is correctly taken, hits the ground first then enters the field could be retaken but hard to see where this could happen exactly given the ball is supposed to be throw in from where it left the field
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28777
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.