Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28781

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/24/2014

RE: Rec Under 13

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28749

I have a follow up question regarding 28749.

White team is attacking and the last player with the ball loses control at the last minute and dribbles the ball right into the goalie hands of red team. Goalie sprints to a corner inside penalty area with the intent to punt. Right as she arrives to the corner, she stops and starts to bounce the ball (it looked to me like she was showing off for the crowd). On the last bounce, she loses control of the ball which rolls completely out of the penalty area. As the as White team dashes towards the ball, Red goalie sprints to the ball, dribbles back into the penalty area and picks up the ball right as defenders are arriving.

Should there have been a call on the play and what would have been the correct play?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi George,
Although keepers are permitted to bounce the ball within the six seconds of uncontested possession if they lose that control through their own efforts they cannot reacquire the ball with their hands. Particularly if there are opponents who are denied a legal challenge to that free ball. This is a double touch indfk from where her hands grabbed the ball as no other player than herself contacted the ball before she did a second time with her hands. Going out of the PA to dribble the ball was fine, dribbling back in the PA was fine, just not using her hands until another player had made contact even one of her own provided it was not deliberately kicked to her.

If and it is a big if, the keeper was inside her area and while bouncing the ball it skittered away; if there was time remaining within the 6 seconds; if no opponent is nearby; if this was a u littles match
I might let the keeper reacquire the ball and immediately punt it, with a friendly reminder why bouncing the ball is a bloody STUPID idea!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

George,

Strictly speaking the goalie 'released' the ball in play, all be it unintentionally. No matter, while she can always dribble it as much as she likes, the moment she touches the ball again without an opponent first playing it, it becomes an INDFK.
Now I understand we are talking U13, and sometimes we are much more lenient with them, but in this case I would enforce the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
The only possible decision here in Law is an IDFK for touching the ball with the hands after releasing it from her possession. It makes no difference that it was unintentional. I might give the benefit if it was a dropped bounce that was picked up immediately but with the ball leaving the penalty area and being brought back in again with the foot is a bridge too far. The goalkeeper had the option of kicking the ball away off the ground which she chose to ignore.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28781
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28790

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.