Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28826

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/6/2014

RE: rec 8 Under 19

Mark of West SAcramento, CA usa asks...

PK in the box. Striker kicked the ball and it hit the goal post. it bounced back at him and he kicked it in. Is this a good goal? The whistle for a goal was blown can I rescind that goal based on the goalie not touching the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

This is not a good goal. Law 14 tells us that at a penalty kick, the kicker may not touch the ball as second time until the ball has touched another player. The goal post is NOT a player. The apparent goal should NOT be allowed, and play should restart with an indirect free kick for the opposing team where the kicker touched the ball a second time.

The referee can change any decision unless play has restarted. In this case, as long as you decided to disallow the goal before the next kickoff, you acted correctly. (If the referee discovers the error only after the kickoff, the goal stands. The referee should include all of the circumstances of the error in the match report.)



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
The kicker has infringed the Laws of the Game by touching the ball twice at a restart without the ball being played / touched by another player. It makes no difference that the ball travelled some 18/24 yards and that it hit the frame of the goal. As the attacking team has infringed the Laws a goal cannot be awarded. The restart is an IDFK from where the ball was touched for the second time.
If play has not restarted the referee can rescind any decision including the award of a goal. Once play has restarted the referee cannot go back to change the decision and all he can do is report the matter in his match report.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Mark,

PK in the box? You made the right decision to have the PK in there.

As soon as the kicker touches the ball a second time before it is touched by another player the play is dead. IDFK to the defense. Think of corner flags, goal posts, referee, A/Rs as just a puff of wind; those are not players.

Now if you forgot about that and allowed a goal, of course you can change your mind as long as you have not restarted play or whistled for end of game. Now the incorrect decision stands and can only be corrected by the league via your match report or protest by one of the team officials.

I have seen this several times in my career and a surprising number of players are not aware of it until quickly explained, then the coin drops.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28826
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28849

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.