Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28840

The Technical Area 10/11/2014

RE: Rec High School

SocDefendcer of Portland, OR U.S.A. asks...

A player is dribbling the ball down the sideline and is running on the out of bounds line with the ball still in play. He loses possession of the ball when he collides with the opposing team's coach who is standing on the sideline just off the field. What is the call? What if it occurs twice in the same game?
Is there any rule on setback from the field of play for spectators, coaches, and/or team members that are not currently active on the field?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
In a FIFA / USSF game the technical area must be set back one yard from the touchline and the technical staff must be inside that area. As regards setback for spectators common sense and safety would suggest that it should be a number of yards, The Law is mute on the exact distance other than it states that upright advertising shall be at least 1 yard from the touch lines of the field of play.
In the case of accidental contact between a coach and player off the field of play inside the technical area that is all that it is. If the coach deliberately contacts the player then the coach should be removed for acting in an irresponsible manner. If the coach is outside the technical area then he has acted contrary to the Laws and while it may have been accidental he should not have been there. That can also be deemed irresponsible behaviour albeit the referee may adopt a more lenient approach when the contact is purely accidental.
If play is stopped to deal with the situation the restart is a dropped ball from where the ball was when play was stopped.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Soccer Parent,

In high school (NFHS Rules), the technical area is called the team area and this team area must be 10 feet from the touch line. (Rule 1-5-10).

Coaches and bench personnel must stay in the team area. (Rule 1-5-3)

Coaching outside the team area is considered unsporting conduct and is a caution. (Rule 12-8-1f-1).

Most often a coach is first warned about being outside the team area before being given a caution, however, a coach that is at least 10 feet out of the area and interfering with a player should be cautioned. A second offense would result in a disqualification.

The restart would be an indirect kick for the offended team from the spot of the ball when the referee stopped play (Rule 13-3)

I hope your team has a successful season.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Whoa twice?? This happening in high school games is very unlikely - Spectators must be at least 10 feet from the touchline and goal line and no one is permitted behind the goals unless seated in bleachers Rule, 1-6)
Given that high school soccer has very strict guidelines about where coaches and spectators can be and how far away the technical area is I am astonished it could occur once never mind twice. No matter the coach MUST act responsibly . Being a ramming post is not acceptable aside from the injury and safety aspect the accountability to be where you are supposed to be the coach is asking to sit this one out . I could likely eject the coach for this the first time most definitely the 2nd
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28840
Read other Q & A regarding The Technical Area

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.