Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28849

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/14/2014

RE: High School

Mark Sansone of Erlanger, Ky USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28826

What is a PK is taken and the keeper saves the shot and the ball bounces back to the kicker and he kicks the ball again into the goal. Goal or No goal?

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Assuming no other infringement before the taking of the penalty kick, this is a valid goal. Under both high school (NFHS) rules and the laws of the game, a kicker may kick the ball a second time after it touches another player. In this case, the ball has touched the keeper, and the kicker is eligible to score.




Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi mark
A goal is the correct decision here. As the ball has been put into play and touched by another player the kicker may play the ball again as part of play.
Should the ball come back off the frame of the goal the kicker could not touch the ball for a 2nd time until it is touched by another player. Should he do so it is an IDFK from where the 2nd touch took place.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone


Mark,

This question is covered in Rule 14-1-5 of the NFHS rules book: It states: 'After the penalty kick is properly taken, the ball may be played by any player except the one who executed the penalty kick. The kicker may not play the ball until it has been touched or played by another player on either team.

In your example, the ball was touched by the goalkeeper and therefore the kicker was allowed to kick it and score a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa

Mark,

Based on your description, good goal. If the keeper had not touched the ball (ie off the post), then this would be a double touch. There may be other reasons why the goal was not awarded though. If one of the attackers had entered early, then the restart would be an IFK because the PK was missed (or retake had it been made).



Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28849
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.