Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28882

Law 15 - Throw In 10/21/2014

RE: Competitive Adult

Noel Soccorso of Bridgewater, Ma United States asks...

Player attempts a throw in releases the ball but the ball never enters the field of play is he or she allowed a second attempt?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Noel
Yes the player would be entitled to another attempt provided the first throw was executed in line with Law 15.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Noel,
Possibility if it the mechanics were CORRECTLY followed but it is MOST unusual for a throw in to be taken correctly and not come into contact with the touchline thus entering the FOP. If the throw in is performed incorrectly it is awarded to the opposing team no matter if it does not enter the FOP.
In USA high school no matter how correct the mechanics, if it fails to enter the field it is awarded as a throw in to the other team.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Noel,

Under the Laws of the Game, this is a retaken throw in, assuming the throw was otherwise taken correctly.

However, usually in these cases the ball swerves partially over the line and back out again. The moment the slightest sliver of the ball is above the line, it's in play. You can't spot this unless you're right on the line or you have an AR though.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28882
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.