Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28885

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/21/2014

RE: Fan Adult

Amr of Alexandria, Alexandria Egypt asks...

Well actually they are 2 related question, what is the ruling if a PK taker hit the woodwork and it rebounded back to him the original PK taker scored the rebound, is it a goal or not, is the PK taker even allowed to touch the ball after a woodwork rebound?
My second question is the exact same but concerning Free Kicks, can a FK taker touch or score a woodwork rebound from his FK?

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Amir,

PK is a type of a 'free kick'. If the kicker is the next player, who touches the ball, it becomes an indirect free kick. Goal posts, corner flags or officials on the field of play do not constitute 'another player'. It must touch another player from either team before the kicker can play the ball without being penalized.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Amr,

The answer is the same to both.

At any restart where a player puts the ball into play (so, both penalty kicks and free kicks are the same here) the kicker cannot touch the ball until it has touched another player. So if the ball bounces off the woodwork and back to the kicker without the keeper touching it, then the kicker cannot touch the ball - he will be penalised by an indirect free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
A player may not touch any kicked restart for a 2nd time until it has touched another player. Should he do so it is a double touch infringement and an indirect free kick.
Clearly as the frame of the goal or say a corner flag is not a player and the restriction of a double touch applies when the ball rebounds from these. The kicker must wait for the ball to touch / be played by another player before he can play the ball again.
Personally I don't like the rule as it is unintentional and extremely difficult for a player to do nor would they even attempt it in play. However it is there as part of the Laws and it is an offence when it happens.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28885
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.