Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28906

Law 15 - Throw In 10/26/2014

RE: Rec Under 15

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, California Sacratomato asks...

A player on the red team makes a throw in. The ball lands on the line and a small part is still touching out of bounds. The ball is mostly inbounds, and travels along the line down the touch line. A player from the the other team picks up the ball thinking the throw in now reverted to her team. What should have been called? I went to the rule book immediately after the game (law 15)but did not find any language that specifies that the ball has to be 100% over the line.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
The ball in in play and as it has not the the field of play the only decision can be a direct free kick for deliberate handling.

The rationale for it being in play is that once the ball is touching the plane of the line or on the line it has to be considered in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi George,

The part of the Law that's relevant is the part that says 'boundary lines form part of the area they enclose'.

Therefore, the line is part of the field. So the moment any part of the ball is above the line, it's in the field.

While the law doesn't make specific mention to a ball entering the field, it does state it's only out when it has wholly crossed the boundary line. So from that, while any part of the ball is still above the line, it's still in play. Logically we then assume it's the same the other way - the moment any part of the ball re-enters the field (including the boundary line), it's in play.

Deliberate handling would be the correct decision here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 15 says, 'The ball is in play when it enters the field of play.' Since the lines are part of the field, once the ball breaks the outer plane of the line, it is in play. The other player didn't let the ball go back out of play (it might have rolled back out, but we don't know) before handling it. Deliberate handling, direct free kick restart. They won't like it, but that's the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28906
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.