Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28950

Law 15 - Throw In 11/6/2014

RE: Travel (Grade 8), NFHS Under 15

Alan Himmelstein of New York, NY USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27930

I understand that, in a NFHS competition, if the ball fails to enter the field of play before it touches the ground, the ball is awarded to the opponent at the spot of infraction. However, what is actually the infraction and where did it occur? Is the infraction the failure of the team taking the throw-in to get the ball to enter the field of play before the ball touches the ground? Doesn't the ball fail to enter the field everywhere? I am guessing the answer is supposed to be where the first team took the throw-in - or more correctly, where they were supposed to take the throw-in - but am I missing something that would make this clear?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Alan,
A referee should indicate direction and location of the throw-in with perhaps a yard or so leeway and ensure the 2 meter free zone is respected..
USA high school position on the throw-in is the throw in occurs from the point it left the field, same as FIFA. Mechanics are identical with FIFA but if the throw in is performed incorrectly it is awarded to the opposing team from EXACTLY the same spot where the original throw was to take place.

Think of the touch lines as a five inch wall of water extending straight up in the air, if ANY part of the ball can get wet, that ball is in play! However, the LOTG require the ball enter in the air not rolling along the ground!

The divergence from FIFA is if the mechanics are correct but the ball FAILS to enter the FOP it can be retaken by the same team. IN USA high school a bad throw is awarded to the other team no matter if the ball entered the FOP or not! Not sure of their exact reasoning other than a throw in is a simple restart and this folly is a waste of time.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alan
Rule 15 Art 5 states that if, on a throw-in, the ball fails to enter the field of play before it touches the ground, the ball is awarded to the opponent at the spot of the infraction.
Rule 15.1.4 goes on to states that a throw-in by a player from Team A lands outside the touchline and bounces into the field of play; or does not hit or break the plane of the touchline but remains outside the ruling both are illegal and the referee award the throw-in to Team B. The throw in is taken from where the original throw was made.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The infringement is the failure to properly put the ball into play on a throw-in because the ball has touched the ground before breaking the plane of the touchline. The infringement is BY the thrower. Thus, the throw in is awarded to the opponents where the original throw was taken.

The reason for the rule difference was to address teams that were using the tactic (when the rule provided for a retake) to waste time. NCAA (college) rules follow the NFHS approach.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Alan,
You are correct on the Rule, 15-1-5 and your assumption that the opponents would get the ball from the previous throw. This is because the ball hitting the ground outside the touch line is not in play so that the spot of the infraction is the throw-in spot.

I hope your season is going well.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28950
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.