Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 28990

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/19/2014

RE: Competitive Under 15

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA USA asks...

I'm always interested in what goes through a typical referee's mind when determining whether a foul should be called or not when two players come together, like this play here ...

First, I want you to know that both players shook it off and were fine to continue. But the question I would have is, was this just really hard play by two opposing players chasing after a loose ball, or a foul? The call on the field was no foul, restart was a throw in as the ball went directly from this collision over the sideline.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Aaron,
Who got the throw in? Last off blue by my reckoning! lol I find it hard to fault either player here. One running down the field the other crossing the field at intercepting angles looks like ball was struck into the blue player by the opponent running across double deflection. Good Hustle, glad to see both ok! Agree with no call!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Looks to me like the correct call. This is two players coming together both intent on playing the ball. If someone had a high definition camera like that used in golf analysis and freeze frame it might be shown who was *later* to the ball. I've watched it umpteen times and I'm not sure.
In fairness to the referee he was well placed and the *best* decision IMO was a throw in. Who that should be for again I'm not sure but I would lean in favour of the Light Blue team.
As a referee I also look to players reactions and from the reaction here players know that it is coming together. Neither side appealed for a free kick. If the referee was unsure of the direction of the throw in he could also start with a dropped ball and allow the team to either contest it or not.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28990
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29000

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.