Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 2900

Law 11 - Offside

RE: travel

George of seven fields, pa usa asks...

I have a question about the response given for question number 48 on your quick whistle quiz. Here is the question: A player makes a pass towards his teammate who is in an offside position inside the opponents penalty area. An opponent reaches out with his hand and deliberately deflects the ball with his hand away from the goal to the player whom the pass was intended. Your action is???? Correct answer IFK to the defenders and no cards..... Explanation.... A player cannot be saved from being in the offside position. A mere deflection, whether by hand or foot by an opponent does not constitue control by the opponent. Thus since we penalize the foul that occurs first, the correct call is offside which occurred at the moment the ball was was played by the players teammate. The handling occurred afterwards even though the intent of the defender was unsporting.... I know that based on the scenario given I would have been lining the players up for a PK because of the deliberate hadling issue. My rationale wuold be based on active involvement. Where is the offside player in relation to the teammate with the ball? Does he meet the requirement of active involvement, gaining advantage, etc that would constitute me calling an offside infraction???? What are your thoughts on this answer...Thaks again.....Great website!!!!!!!!..George

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

If the pass was headed right towards the attacker before the handball, that would constitute active involvement.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson

Hi George, ..The real key is in the first part of the question ."A player makes a pass ....towards.... his teammate who is in an offside position" At this moment the offside is judged with reguards to position as the pass was intended to a player either waiting or moving that player is directly involved. You do not need to actually touch the ball to be guilty of the infringement. Question 2842 deals with the same question I will agree that a player could be offside in a far section of the field not interfering with play and your decision would be correct. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 2900
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29004

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.