Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29046

Law 15 - Throw In 12/11/2014

RE: Local league Adult

Muhammad musa Mallam-Madori of Mallam Madori, Jigawa Nigeria asks...

When a player throw the ball and the ball goes to the net and crossed the goalline,was it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Muhammad
No. It is not possible to score a goal directly from a throw in. If the ball enters the goal directly from a throw in without touching another player the restart is a goal kick if an attacker took the throw in and it is a corner kick if a defender threw the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

If it's a throw-in then a goal cannot be directly scored. If, however, the goalkeeper threw the ball (for instance, after saving a shot), then this is a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy


Your question is a bit ambiguous. I am going to assume that you mean 'throw-in' as in the ball went out of play on the touch line and a form of restarting the game as opposed to a goalie 'throwing' the ball from his penalty area when the ball is in his possession in active play.

Law 15 states: 'A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in.'

If the ball crosses the goal line anywhere, even between the goalposts and under the crossbar, it becomes either a goal kick or a corner kick, depending on which team threw the ball into play.

So, let's say an attacker takes the throw-in and it crosses the goal line between the goal posts and under the cross bar. The result is a goal kick.

But let's say a defender takes the throw-in and throws it towards his own goalie. The goalie completely misses the ball and it goes in the back of the net. The result is a corner-kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29046
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.