Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29075

Law 15 - Throw In 12/28/2014

RE: Professional

Glenn of Newbury Park, CA USA asks...

Today in the 78' of Man Utd v Spurs, a throw in was awarded to Man U. Rafael stole a few yards from where referee Moss had pointed for the restart to occur.
Before the TI was taken the referee blew his whistle and awarded the TI to Spurs.
Can anyone explain what law was applied?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Glenn
I wish more referees would implement Law 15 fully. I have seen the incident and Raphael the Manchester United player took the throw in from the wrong location some 10 yards from where the ball left the field of play and as a result the decision was that the throw in was turned over to the opponents from the correct location. The decision was made after the ball was thrown in by Raphael not before so Referee Moss made the correct decision and well done to him for doing that. I also think that the referee tried to advise Raphael to go back before he took the TI and that was ignored. Perhaps that arm signal to instruct Raphael confused you. Obviously we are not party to what could have been said with the arm signal which could have been words such as **Far enough* * Go back please*





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Glenn,
what you describe it appears as if the referee is awarding the throw in to the opposing team because it was taken incorrectly. This is written into LAW 15 THROW IN.

What seems slightly odd is you say before the throw in takes place? After reviewing it, the throw in was taken AFTER having been warned by the referee to quit moving up the touch line.

Throw ins are to be taken from where the ball left the FOP. Within reason, a yard or two is not unrealistic but ten yds stretches a referees patience!

Those players who try to gain too much extra yardage, while at times trifling, it is always illegal!

Looks like referee Moss called out Rafael for his ignoring this part of the law?

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V31v0dGUjek&t=102m34s Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29075
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29077

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.