Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29126

Law 11 - Offside 1/24/2015

RE: Recreational Adult

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29116

Thank you Referees Wright, McHugh and Dawson.

Your collective comments help provide clarity.

With all this in mind, how does the disallowed goal in the recent Senegal v South Africa match stack up ?


Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
One can determine that White 9 challenged the goalkeeper for the ball so in the opinion of the referee that is interfering with an opponent. The scorer was certainly onside but a goal cannot be allowed if the attacking team has infringed the Laws. In this case the AR deemed the PIOP to have challenged for the ball which from his angle is what he would have observed.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russell,
often on the Senegal free kicks I would see offside positions taken prior to the free kick. The tactical aspect of that is to convince defenders to stay up as your onside guy resets offside at the time of the header as a new touch.
The fact was at the time of the header #9 was offside positioned. Although the keeper spilled the ball to an onside attacker and the offside attacker did not block the line of sight he appeared to be challenging the keeper for possession . Challenging is active involvement in no further than a 2 step proximity to the opponent. I suspect interfering with an opponent was the correct call! Although there was a slim chance the shot may have glanced off one of the two players in front of goal before crossing the goal line which also would have annulled the goal. Amazing though they scored from the same thing minutes later lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29126
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29134

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.