Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29129

Law 18 - Common Sense 1/24/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29123

I have a related question. Suppose the GK is bouncing the ball & it takes a funny hop away from the GK. Must the opponents wait until the ball hits the ground again (i.e. a second time) before challenging for it? I would think that because the GK is considered to still be in possession, they would not be able to interfere with the GK trying to recover the ball or to touch the ball before it hits the ground again.

As I think of this, a similar scenario presents itself. If the bounced ball takes a funny hop & both the GK & another defender go to get it, I would think that a nearby attacker could challenge the defender for the ball, as long as he/she didn't interfere with the GK. Is that right?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
it is WHY I say bouncing the ball is a foolish attribute .

I get you are vacillating on the distinction of a bouncing ball being dribbled hand to ground and until the ball hits the ground a second time without being handled to be considered as a form of release thus non possession.
A brief moment to ascertain the ball is not being bounced with control may indeed see it hit the ground in consecutive bounces without contacting the hand as in a basketball double dribble

Realistically within the 6 seconds while we MIGHT cut a keeper some slack allowing a keeper to re grab if he looses possession from a slippery ball and drops it or a poorly bounced ball that hits his foot or a soggy hump of sod and rolls away if it was under the 6 seconds there is nothing in law the says we must consider it not released back into play. Accidently or on purpose the LOTG are not explicit and a 2nd touch infraction is a correct interpretation

No good keeper should ever bounce the ball, for the very reasons your question raises. It will be an OPINION, but a miss-bounced ball that rolls away is in MY opinion free to be challenged by the opposition as it is no longer controlled or possessed by the keeper.

As long as the opponent was not directly the cause of the loss of possession by say trying to get close and intimidate the keeper, switching directions, shadowing every movement from close in, fake attempts to kick out or make a challenge etc... An opponent can NOT hassle the keeper during possession but once the keeper has no possession the ball is free to be challenged

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
The answer IMO depends on the opinion of the referee. If it is clear that it was a bounce and a pick up then there is no offence and the GK clearly is still in possession of the ball. Only the referee on the day can judge that based on what he sees. An opponent should not be challenging in the bounce scenario and my experience is that GK rarely bounce the ball with the possibility of a challenge from an opponent.
If the ball is released to the ground then it is available to be challenged for and the goalkeeper may not touch the ball again with his hands. The wise GK will kick it away.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29129
Read other Q & A regarding Law 18 - Common Sense

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.