Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29138

Law 15 - Throw In 1/26/2015

RE: Youth to adult, rec and competitive Adult

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

I've been involved in an interesting discussion at a British site, regarding throw-ins.

Scene: player throws the ball... but it never comes into the field of play. The ref notices that the thrower jumped off the ground when he was throwing it.

What is your call? Be careful... a ref whom I regard as one of the top three in my area got it wrong!

I personal disagree with the correct answer... but it is written in The Laws.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
If the throw in is not taken in line with the correct procedure as set out in Law 17 the throw in is turned over to the opponents. If it is thrown in properly and it does not enter the field of play it is a retake.
In games where I don't have neutral assistants I always turn the ball over on the basis that if the thrower is standing on the line there is every chance that the ball broke the plane of the line at the TI. I also feel that the player had the clear opportunity to put the ball well into play and chose otherwise.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Barry,

The internet is great for those discussions that get the grey matter working!!
p134 of the LOTG answers this one for me:

If the ball touches the ground before entering the fi eld of play, the throw-in is
retaken by the same team from the same position provided that it was taken
in line with the correct procedure. If the throw-in is not taken in line with the
correct procedure, it is retaken by the opposing team.

I don't think the use of the word 'before' is intended to say that the ball has to enter the field after the bounce for this clause to be active; I think that's FIFA just trying to retain some efficiency on wording.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Barry,
If the throw-in is incorrectly performed it is awarded to the opposing team.
NO matter if it goes into play or NOT!

If it is CORRECTLY performed but fails to enter the FOP before contacting the ground or stays in the air outside the touchlines for the entire duration it can be retaken .

Personally I agree with the USA high school adaptation as the most logical,
if the throw-in is taken incorrectly, no matter in or out ,the opposing team is awarded the throw!

It is interesting , I have watched PROFFESSIONAL referees muck this up as well as award INDFK for verbal impeding with NO caution not showing the yellow card. I often think the referee just does what he thinks is best for the match and sets aside the LOTG at times.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29138
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.