Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29163

Law 16 - Goal Kick 2/9/2015

RE: Rec , advanced Adult

Michael Esparza of Huntington beach, California Orange asks...

The ball has gone out of play for a goal kick. the goalkeeper places the ball on left lets go and then decides to pick it up and move it to the other side . the referee gives the keeper a yellow card and an indirect free kick . now i know there are only four instances that this can happen the second says that a keeper cannot touch the ball again after he releases it from his possesion . i would assume that this only takes place if the ball is still in play?

is this the case if the ball has not been put back into play?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Michael,
you are spot on!
The match is now protestable!
Referee needs a refresher course in law dynamics and understanding

It is 100% against the LOTG for a referee to award an INDFK against the keeper for his actions.

It is 100% correct under the LOTG to assume the referee could caution and show a yellow card as the actions as you describe, could be, in the opinion of the referee considered as a form of USB misconduct and cautionable.

When a GOAL kick is awarded, the ball must be placed anywhere within the goal area and kicked completely clear of the PA boundary lines to be in play.

Spotting of the ball by the keeper occurs BEFORE the ball is actually in play!
There is no 2nd touch violation, THE BALL IS NOT IN PLAY!

The referee could hold the opinion the keeper's actions in moving the ball, DELAYED THE RESTART OF PLAY by wasting time and as such is, cautionable,. To ensure the keeper is punished according to the nature of the MISCONDUCT, the referee by the LOTG MUST show the yellow card BEFORE he allows the restart to continue.

Where the referee lost it was he altered the goal kick restart into an incorrect restart sequence by awarding an INDFK for the opposition when the restart must STILL BE A GOAL KICK!

Hopefully the referee gets a a heads up before taking the whistle out to play for the next time!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
The referee would be entitled to caution the goalkeeper for delaying the restart of play if that what the goalkeepers motives were in moving the ball. The restart though does not change as it is still a goal kick. IN addition the ball is not in play until it leaves the penalty area so there cannot be any foul until that happens. The award of an IDFK here is a serious error and one that the referee should be advised of. The ball is not in play so the restart CANNOT change.
Personally I would warn the goalkeeper about his actions before dealing with it by way of a caution. Also at underage young players might forget instructions given by coaches about goal kicks and then decide to change side to follow the instruction. A word with the GKs may suffice and for me only a repeat gets dealt with more harshly

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29163
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.