Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29274

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/29/2015

RE: Adult

STEVE of CARDIFF, UK asks...

I UNDERSTAND THAT IF A GOAL KICK IS TAKEN, LEAVES THE BOX AND IS BLOWN BY THE WIND BACK INTO THE GOAL THE MATCH IS RESTARTED WITH A CORNER KICKĻ.BUT DOES THIS CHANG IF IN THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES THE GOAL KEEPER ATTEMPTS TO STOP THE BALL FROM GOING INTO THE GOAL .BUT ONLY MANAGES TO TOUCH THE BALL ON ITS WAY INTO THE NET

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Steve
As the goalkeeper has touched the ball for a second time after it was put into play that is a double touch infringement assuming the goal kick was taken by the goalkeeper. The referee can and should play advantage in which case the goal is allowed.
The smart GK that knows the law will allow the corner kick to happen rather than struggling to stop the ball entering the goal and failing.

I would also point out that if the goalkeeper is successful in preventing the ball entering the goal the referee does not take any disciplinary action against the goalkeeper and the restart is an IDFK on the six yard goal are line directly opposite from where the goalkeeper touched the ball for the 2nd time. All defenders then must line up on the goal line for the free kick or 10 yards to the side and rear of the ball.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Steve,
do you know all CAPS is SCREAMING in internet lingo?
This goal kick as described, if taken by the keeper, then is played (using any body part) by the keeper once back inside the penalty area it would be a 2nd touch violation on the blowback. Although it could be ignored as trifling or doubtful given the skill set of those playing. If the keeper tried, but failed, to keep the ball from completely crossing the goal line, entering the goal under the crossbar and between the goal posts it would be classified as a good goal per law 5 the advantage clause.


If the goal kick was taken by a defender then the keeper in theory is ONLY denied the use of his hands because the ball was deliberately kicked by a teammate to the keeper. The keeper CAN play the ball with his feet or body of course. If the hands were used it could be a trifling or doubtful situation as it is not really how the passback portion of the laws was designed to combat, but again, if the keeper failed to stop the ball from entering the goal, it could be classified as a good goal per the advantage clause.

The only consideration I have for NOT thinking either of these as trifling or doubtful is if an opponent was chasing the ball about to score and the illegal use of keeper's hands or his illegal actions stops the challenge. Once leaving the PA (penalty area) the ball is IN PLAY and the opposition are free to pursue it! Wind assisted or not!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29274
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29279

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.