Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29294

Law 16 - Goal Kick 4/10/2015

RE: competitive Adult

Andy Yates of Plymouth , Devon England asks...

I'm a goalkeeper, the other day my centre half came to take a six yard kick, I placed the ball down and played it short to the left back. The referee made us retake the kick as he said the centre half wasn't allowed to be in the box. Was he right?

My understanding is that as long as the ball isn't played by him then it's not an infringement. Similarly, if he comes back to take the kick, I can still kick it wide and he can follow the ball, touching it once it leaves the box.

I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Andy,
Unfortunately the referee was incorrect here. the Laws of the Game specifically state that attackers must not be inside the Penalty Area when a goal kick is being taken, but do not mention defenders. So they can be inside the Penalty Area - just as long as they do not touch the ball until it leaves the Penalty Area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Andy,
You my friend are spot on!
On the other hand, it appears the referee is in dire need of a refresher course!
Only the attackers have to be outside on defensive free kicks from inside the penalty area!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Andy
The referee made an error here in Law. Only opponents are required to be outside the penalty area and even at that on a quick goal kick that requirement can be ignored. How else could a defender take a goal kick!!
I suspect that with it looking like the centre half was going to take the goal kick that it confused the referee into thinking that there is something here to do with players being outside the penalty area and he incorrectly went with a retake. While I would have to accept the incorrect call I would mention it to the referee after the game in a friendly way about his incorrect call



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29294
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.