Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29379

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 5/2/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29374

What would you do if the ball goes over the touch line & the opposing team quickly takes a throw-in before you see the AR's flag? If you didn't signal for a throw-in, can you still go back to the penalty kick?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
Technically in Law once the game restarts the referee cannot go back. However on any quick restart the referee can stop play immediately and cite that he did not give permission. We have alll been in that situation where play has restarted yet we stop immediately because of some issue that we want to deal with.
If play was to continue for a short period then the only possible restart is a dropped ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
Yes although it is a matter of timing. No referee should allow a restart without eye contact to BOTH ARs. At the elite level they have microphones and head sets. At the recreational level we have common sense and a voice lol As my colleague Ref McHUGH suggests if we did not give permission then it did not occur if we recall it within a few moments. You let play go on for a bit and only then looked back and saw a flag you have waited TOO long, bad communication , no pk , a drop ball and you have some explaining to do! Note though if there was a caution or red card event that could still be shown and acted upon.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If you as referee accepted that the throw-in was the proper restart, then that's the way it stands.

If you didn't have time to consider whether the restart was proper or not, you can bring it back.

Otherwise think about this. Red kicks the ball out. An enterprising Red player picks it up and throws it back in. The restart has happened, so you're stuck with it, right? Of course not.

Although as I recall, that's the origin of the terms 'touch line' and 'in touch'. Way back when, under some incarnation of the rules that eventually evolved into FIFA, the first player to 'touch' the ball after it went out was entitled to the restart. Fun, huh?

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the referee signals and restarts with a throw in, then it is too late to go back. The AR on the other side should have mirrored the far AR and there would not have been a problem. This is just bad overall communication on the part of the referees.

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29379
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.