Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29424

Law 15 - Throw In 5/19/2015

RE: Amateur Adult

Patrick of Detroit, United States asks...

Law 15 specifies that the throw in be taken within one yard of where the ball leaves the field of play. Does this solely refer to vertical distance along the field of play? In other words, can a player perform a legal thrown in indefinitely far 'width-wise' from the touchline?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Patrick
No, the understanding is that the one yard also applies to depth as well as length. As you know there is a great deal of latitude given to players on the point of the throw in. A similar latitude should be given in depth back from the touchline although for instance a player should not be allowed to take a throw in from behind a barrier or back so far that the TI is unseen. .

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Patrick,
short answer is NO! The throw in is designed as a simple method of restarting play. The 1 meter guideline is to remind us that the throw in is supposed to occur where the ball left the field. The 2 meter space surrounding it allows for a player to actually be standing on the touchline when performing the throw in and not have the arms smack the opponent in the face upon release of the ball. Once an opponent is properly respecting the 2 meter distance from the correct restart location the thrower tries to move around, past or escape by relocating, this should not be permitted. While we allow some latitude throwing from an incorrect restart location may result in a loss of possession.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29424
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.