Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29467

Law 14 - Penalty kick 6/8/2015

RE: Adult

John of Listowel, On Canada asks...

Penalty shot...
Ball hits the X-bar and the GOALIE DOES NOT touch it.

The play is SHUT down..correct?
And a goal kick is awarded?

The ball is in play if it reflects off the goalie...???Correct...

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
Im somewhat at a loss to understand why you would think that the ball rebounding off the crossbar puts it out of play?? Has the ball left the field of play? If the ball hits the crossbar or the goalkeeper and rebounds in open play it is still in play as it never left the field of play and play MUST continue. There is no reason to stop play unless the ball fully crossed the goal line or play was extended to allow the final kick to proceed or an offence was committed. So at a PK once the ball is kicked it is in play until it fully crosses a boundary line or play is stopped by the referee

Now if the penalty kicker touches the rebound off the frame of the goal without it touching another player that is a double touch infringement which has an indirect free kick restart. If it touches the goalkeeper then the kicker is free to play the ball for a 2nd times as it has been touched by another player.
Here is an example. The IDFK was awarded for a double touch by the Yellow kicker not because the ball was out of play. If the Red team had played the ball or another Yellow player other than the kicker then play would continue
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dW1sO37qJUw



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

John, are you thinking of the case where the goalpost is a combination of soccer goal and gridiron goalpost? In that case, USSF has decided that if the ball hits the gridiron portion of the apparatus it is out of play. This may be the same in Canada for games played on common fields. And that applies for any play, not just penalty kicks.

But otherwise, striking the goal and rebounding, the ball is in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
there are certain types of pks.
A PK taken during regulation where time is not stopped or suspended the ball is in play after a miss! If the ball was to rebound off the post or crossbar and stay on the field of play that ball is in play thus NO goal kick is possible.

The ONLY restriction is if the keeper did not affect the shot by getting a touch to deflect it off the post or crossbar the PK kicker is forbidden to play the ball as it has not yet contacted another player thus he would be guilty of a 2nd touch violation, INDFK out for the opposition. All other 21 players are free to play the ball provided no infringements prior to the taking of the PK

For a goal kick the PK must be during regulation play with the ball exiting the field of play last touching the PK kicker or one of his team mates before crossing the opposition's goal line. The post and crossbar are part of the FOP(field of play)

The EXCEPTON to this is a BYLAW that allows the referee to consider dual crossbar rugby or pointy ball that has uprights and a secondary support structure above the actual crossbar whereupon a ball contacts THIS structure would be considered as out of play over the goal line and a goal kick awarded if the ball was last touched by the attackers,a corner kick if last touched by the defenders/keeper

A PK taken in extended time or as KFTPM has no chance of being played again nor is a goal kick possible as the play is dead once the momentum of that ball has ceased or has exited the field of play. The ball if it rebounded off the post or crossbar and or off the keeper in any order and the ball was to eventually cross the goal line under the crossbar between the posts under its own power imparted at the time of the PK, it would be a good goal. Once the ball is kicked no player other than the defending keeper have any impact on the outcome as they can not participate in play

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No, no. Ball is live. If the kicker touches it before it touches anyone else..then it is IFK for the defense at spot of infraction.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29467
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.