Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29473

Law 16 - Goal Kick 6/9/2015

RE: Rec Adult

Dan of Toronto, Ontario Canada asks...


After a goal kick, is the opponent allowed in the penalty box to intercept the ball before it leaves the area ?

Thanks,

Dan

Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Dan,
NO!
on ...ANY defending free kick... not just a goal kick, that originates from anywhere INSIDE the defending PA (penalty area) the ball is NOT IN PLAY until it has completely exited the PA. While no one from either team can touch/play the ball until it exits the PA only the opposition must be at least 10 yds from the ball, and no opponent is permitted within the PA until ...AFTER...the ball has fully exited the PA.

Although advantage could be applied on the too early cut through by an opponent to be overlooked as trifling, any actual touch of the ball inside the PA would not be allowed. If the defenders were to take a quick kick and it was intercepted inside the PA by an opponent or a forgetful team mate caught close by, the kick would simply be retaken
Cheers










.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dan
No that is not possible. All opponents must exit the penalty area and the ball must not be touched by either side until it has left the penalty area on any kicked restart. Opponents remain outside the penalty area until the ball is in play
If a player takes a short cut across the penalty area it is at the referees discretion as to allow that or not. If he feels that it has disadvantaged the kicking team then the kick is retaken. If it has not then he can deem it trifling and allow play to continue.
The same would apply to a quick restart. If there are opponents still in the penalty area the referee can allow play to proceed provided the ball is not touched for a 2nd time inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29473
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.