Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29537

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/15/2015

Mark of white plains, usa asks...

The goalkeeper punts the ball. After it leaves the penalty area, it rebounds off you and is going into the goalkeepers goal. In a desperate attempt to stop the ball from going into the goal, the goalkeeper dives and handles the ball but is unable to stop it from entering the net. You should
stop play and award an indirect free kick for the attacking team.
allow the goal.
stop play and award a penalty kick for the attacking team

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mark,
this looks like and is formatted as a test question?
The answer is one easy to derive at.
As a referee you are part of the field of play no different than a post, crossbar, flag or dirt clod. Did any opposing player do anything against the LOTG ?
If you can answer NO then you have your answer.

If you were to grab that ball yourself or even ahem ...inadvertently whistle... because you were hurt by the impact before the ball was to cross the goal line knowing what might occur, you drop ball restart while being red faced and slightly mortified.

The keeper if he was able to reacquire the ball as a second touch again you have another answer INDFK to the opposition and you are even further mortified. While you are likely tempted to just let the keeper kick the ball out again altering the LOTG because...YOU..messed up only seems fair, but actually creates protestable situations !

I suggest one REALLY REALLY try not to be a dirt clod when you are a referee, it generally does not end well! ESPECIALLY when it ends up as a legal GOAL! You restart with the kick off and aside from being SUPER mortified expect to be thinking about a quick exit after the match and not overly sensitive to certain comments directed your way even as you apologise profusely. Mind you 50% of those playing will no doubt be thanking you as well.>

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The ball went into the goal? Did the team that scored the goal infringe the Laws of the Game?

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
Prevention is better than cure. This should not have happened and referees should know not to position themselves in a way that this could happen. Perhaps if the referee was temporarily incapacitated from the force of the punt from short range and unable to see what happened play should be stopped and the restart is a dropped ball. If ARs are present then they can advise the CR as to what actually happened then that advice is taken. As to the Laws the correct decision is to allow advantage for the offence of touching the ball again with the hands after it is released from possession and award a goal. If play is stopped for the infringement before the ball entered the goal then the restart is an indirect free kick from the six yard line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Mark,

There is no justification under the laws in stopping play. Sometimes the laws seem unfair, but the referee is as stuck with them as the players are.

Advantage clause dictates allowing the goal.

And, of course, apologising for getting in the way!

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29537
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.